Blog Restaurants
Best AI phone ordering systems for restaurants in 2026
Eight AI phone ordering systems compared from their own websites: which POS the order lands in, how customers pay, and what the published prices work out to.

Short answer
The best AI phone ordering system puts orders straight into your POS and lets customers pay how they already do. On their own sites in October 2026, Loman, Kea, Maple and X1 Voice take card payment during the call, Square sends a pay link, and Pulse leaves payment for pickup. Published prices start at $1.50 an order.
AI phone ordering for restaurants has gone from a handful of pilots to a crowded shelf. Most of these products sound good on a demo call. The differences that matter show up later: which POS the order actually lands in, how the customer pays, whether you keep your phone number, and how the bill grows in your busiest month.
A disclosure first: we make Pulse, and it's on this list. Everything said here about other platforms comes from their own websites and help pages, checked on October 11, 2026. Prices and integrations change often, so confirm with each vendor before you sign.
The shortlist
| Platform | Orders go into | Payment on the call | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pulse | Square and GoTab | No. Paid at pickup | Quoted in writing, no public rate card |
| Loman | Lists Toast, SpotOn, Clover, Shift4, Square, Aloha, Olo and Stream | Yes, on its Premium plan | Not published |
| Kea | Toast, Square, Clover, Olo and "11+" POS systems | Yes, card, Apple Pay and Google Pay | One flat price, not published |
| Maple | Toast, Square, Clover and Shift4 Dine (Pro plan) | Yes, on Pro | Pro $350 a month, or $220 a month billed yearly |
| X1 Voice | Square and OrderCounter natively, others through Deliverect | Yes, on every plan | $1.50 per order, or $250 a month for 750 minutes |
| Bite Buddy | Toast, Square, Clover, Olo, SpotOn, Aloha and more | Not stated | $1.50 per completed order |
| Square AI voice ordering | Square only | Caller gets a text link to pay | Included with Square Plus, Premium or Messages Plus |
| ConverseNow | Partners include Brink, Aloha, Olo, PAR and Qu | Not stated | Not published |
1. Pulse: best if your customers pay at pickup and you run Square or GoTab
Pulse answers the number your customers already call, takes the order in conversation, matches every item and modifier to your live POS menu, reads it back to the cent and posts it as a normal ticket in Square or GoTab. Prices are read and added up by plain code, not by the language model, and the total is checked against the one your POS calculates. It never takes card numbers on the phone; orders are paid at pickup. Pulse also runs phone lines outside restaurants, and agencies resell it under their own name.
Good fit: takeout-heavy restaurants on Square or GoTab whose regulars pay at the counter. Less good: restaurants on Toast, Clover or Aloha, or anyone who wants the card taken during the call. We wrote how the total is checked in detail.
2. Loman: best POS coverage for restaurants that want payment on the call
Loman lists Toast, SpotOn, Clover, Shift4, Square, Aloha by NCR, Olo and Stream, plus OpenTable and Resy for reservations. Ordering, reservations and "secure payment over the phone" sit on its Premium plan; its Starter plan handles calls and questions. Loman doesn't publish prices, and its pricing page says there are no per-minute fees.
Good fit: restaurants on Toast or another POS Pulse doesn't support, and groups that want reservations and ordering in one product. Less good: if you want to see a price before a sales call. We wrote a full Pulse vs Loman comparison.
3. Kea: best for flat pricing with unlimited calls
Kea connects to the POS to take orders and send them to the kitchen, naming Toast, Square, Clover and Olo among "11+ direct POS integrations." It takes card, Apple Pay and Google Pay payments, and its site says it can throttle orders when tickets back up. Pricing is described as "one flat price" with "unlimited calls" and no per-order costs, but the number itself comes after you submit your details.
Good fit: busy restaurants, including multi-location groups, that want a predictable monthly bill. Less good: if you need a public price to compare.
4. Maple: best published flat price
Maple is one of the few that prints its prices. Its Pro plan, which includes ordering into the POS, reservations and "secure payment over the phone," costs $350 a month, or $220 a month billed yearly, with no per-minute fees. It lists Toast, Square, Clover and Shift4 Dine, plus OpenTable. The cheaper Voice plan answers calls and questions but does not take orders.
Good fit: single locations that want a known monthly number. Less good: check which plan you're comparing; only Pro takes orders.
5. X1 Voice: best for paying per order or per minute
X1 Voice publishes three ways to pay: $1.50 per completed order with no monthly fee, a $250 Starter plan with 750 minutes and $0.35 a minute after that, or a $750 plan with 2,500 minutes. Phone payment collection is included on every plan. It integrates natively with Square and OrderCounter and reaches other systems, including Toast and Clover, through Deliverect.
Good fit: lower-volume restaurants that want to pay only when orders come in. Less good: confirm how your POS connects; a middleware route adds another system between the call and the kitchen.
6. Bite Buddy: best simple per-order pricing
Bite Buddy lists $1.50 per completed order at its list rate and says most restaurants are set up in about 24 hours. It names Toast, Square, Clover, Olo, SpotOn and NCR Aloha among its POS integrations, and also books reservations and answers questions. Its homepage doesn't say whether callers can pay during the call.
Good fit: restaurants that want to start fast and pay only for completed orders. Less good: ask how payment works before you sign.
7. Square AI voice ordering: best if you are all-in on Square
Square's own voice ordering is included with its Square Plus, Premium and Messages Plus plans. Its help center says it "works only with your Square-provided business numbers," with call forwarding suggested as the workaround, and callers pay through a link texted to them during the call. We wrote a full comparison with Square's voice ordering.
Good fit: Square restaurants happy with prepay by text and a Square number. Less good: restaurants whose regulars pay at pickup, or that want to keep their published number without forwarding.
8. ConverseNow: best for restaurant chains
ConverseNow sells voice AI to restaurant brands, with partners including Brink POS, NCR Aloha, Olo, PAR, Qu, Xpient and ItsaCheckmate, and a logo wall of national chains. It doesn't publish prices; you book a consultation.
Good fit: franchise and multi-unit brands with an enterprise POS. Less good: a single independent restaurant.
If most of your calls are reservations rather than takeout, look at reservation-first products like Slang AI instead; we explain the difference in Pulse vs Slang.
What the pricing models mean in practice
Per-order pricing is cheapest when you're quiet, and flat pricing wins when you're busy. At $1.50 an order, 100 phone orders a month cost $150 and 300 cost $450. Maple's Pro plan at $350 a month (billed monthly) is cheaper than per-order pricing above about 233 orders a month. Per-minute plans depend on call length: X1's 750 included minutes cover about 250 calls if an order call runs three minutes. Run your own order count through each model before you compare quotes.
How to choose
- Does the order land in your POS today? Natively, through middleware, or as a message someone retypes? Ask for your exact POS, not the logo wall.
- How do your customers pay? Card on the call, a texted link, or at the counter. Pick the one that matches your regulars.
- Do you keep your number? Some only work on a number they issue; others answer the one on your sign and your Google listing.
- Where does the total come from? Ask whether the price the caller hears is calculated by the POS or by the model.
- What happens with sold-out items, allergies and complaints? Call the demo line and ask for something you've marked sold out.
- Test it on your real menu. A scripted demo always works. Order something with three modifiers and change your mind halfway.
Our restaurant phone ordering guide covers how an AI order moves from the call to the kitchen, and you can call our demo line to try to break it: (313) 889-7436.
Questions people ask
What is the best AI phone ordering system for a small restaurant?
The one that posts orders into your POS today and matches how your customers pay. Restaurants on Square or GoTab whose customers pay at pickup fit Pulse; restaurants on Toast or Clover should look at Loman, Kea, Maple or Bite Buddy.
How much does AI phone ordering cost?
Published prices checked in October 2026 run from $1.50 per completed order (Bite Buddy and X1 Voice) to $350 a month for Maple Pro billed monthly. Loman, Kea, ConverseNow and Pulse quote prices directly.
Can an AI phone ordering system take card payments?
Several can. Loman on its Premium plan, Kea, Maple Pro and X1 Voice list payment during the call. Square texts the caller a payment link, and Pulse leaves payment for pickup and never takes card numbers.
Does AI phone ordering work with Toast?
Loman, Kea, Maple and Bite Buddy list Toast, and X1 Voice connects to it through Deliverect. Pulse posts orders to Square and GoTab today, not Toast.
Sources, checked October 11, 2026: Loman pricing, Kea, Maple pricing, X1 Voice pricing and homepage, Bite Buddy, Square voice ordering help, and ConverseNow. All names are trademarks of their owners. Pulse AI is not affiliated with any of them.